Defendant Resources while out on a Bail Bond
TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF RELEASE & INDEMNATOR RESPONSIBILITIES
The Indemnitor(s) and Defendant must strictly adhere to the conditions within until such time that the bail bond is discharged. While free on said bail in its entire duration, until such time that the Power of Attorney (Bail Bond) is returned to the AGENCY by the court.
Failure to comply with any conditions, subsequently grants an uncontested and irrevocable authorization for reincarnation of the defendant and revocation of Bail.
1. DEFENDANT MUST Call-In via telephone, 877-71-CHECK within 24 hours of release from custody and speak to a representative or leave a message where you can be contacted at.
2. DEFENDANT MUST CHECK-IN EVERY MONDAY, EVERY WEEK BY CALLING 877-71-CHECK AND LEAVE A MESSAGE ON THE AUTOMATED CHECK-IN SYSTEM.
3. If placed on P.T.I. defendant must continue to check-in.
DEFENDANT MUST NOTIFY AGENCY OF COURT DATES AND COURT NOTICES.
The defendant must obtain Court dates from the Court; the Court is of the opinion it does not have to notify the bondsman. The AGENCY is not responsible for obtaining court dates for the defendant nor to notify Indemnitor(s) of the defendant of court dates. Defendant must attend any and all court proceedings. In the event any court appearances are missed the AGENCY must be immediately contacted.
In the event that the Defendant is arrested for any charge and/or incarcerated for any reason, you must call the AGENCY immediately to make aware of the situation.
CHANGE OF ADDRESS
If Defendant or any INDEMNITOR change place of residence, phone numbers or employment the AGENCY must be notified 48 hours prior to said move. If Defendant leaves his/her residence for a period of more then 1 day, you are to immediately notify the AGENCY of Defendant’s whereabouts. Defendant must have written permission from the Court and the AGENCY to leave the State of New Jersey for any reason or amount of time.
CONTIGENT NOTICE OF INTENT TO REVOKE BAIL BOND
Failure to comply with the above conditions by the defendant or the Indemnitor(s) places the Surety of this bail in a position of greater risk. The AGENCY will take the necessary legal action to be released from the bail. Indemnitor(s) and Defendant will be responsible for all expenses. Failure to comply, subsequently grants uncontested and irrevocable authorization for reincarnation of the defendant and revocation of Bail.
The Criminal Division of Superior Court manages criminal complaints from the time they are lodged to their resolution or "disposition". The accused, or "defendant" is charged with an offense as a result of a formal complaint issued by a law enforcement agent or a citizen who believes an offense has been committed against their person or property. It can also result from an "indictment" by a panel of citizens gathered to consider evidence, called a "grand jury". Arrests can occur at the scene of a crime or based on warrants or sworn statements ordering a court appearance. All arrests must be based on "probable cause", or reasonable grounds to believe that an offense has been committed, and the defendant may have committed the offense. Complaints state the reasons for the charge, and refer to offenses listed in the "New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice" (Title 2C) that includes all of the laws against criminal behavior.
Criminal offenses are heard, or considered in Superior Court, and are more serious than non-criminal charges heard in municipal courts where the offense occurred. Defendants found guilty, or "convicted" of crimes face more serious consequences, with punishments spanning probation supervision and fines to the loss of liberty through confinement for a year or more. Crimes are classified by degree. Degrees range from first to fourth degree offenses. A First degree crime carries the potential penalty of 10-20 years in prison. A Second degree crime carries a potential penalty of 5-10 years. Defendants who are convicted of first and second degree crimes face a presumptive term of incarceration. It is assumed that they will be sentenced to serve time in prison. A Third degree crime may result in 3-5 years if convicted, while Fourth degree crimes carry a potential penalty of up to 18 months in jail. There is a presmption of non-custodial sentences on 3rd and 4th degree offenses.
Complaints heard in municipal courts are "disorderly persons" offenses or "petty disorderly persons" violations, which carry less restrictive punishments upon conviction. Disorderly persons offenses may be sentenced to up to 6 months in a county jail. Petty disorderly convictions may render up to 30 days in jail.